Since 2013, the Netherlands Flanders Communication Association (NeFCA) confers the NeFCA Senior Career award and the NeFCA Young Scholar Award to recognize excellent achievements of communication scholars. These prices are alternately awarded during the annual Etmaal conference.

Senior Career Award:
The NeFCA Senior Career Award honors a lifetime of scholarly achievement in communication studies. The award recognizes scholars who have shown substantive and quantifiable contributions, scientific as well as societal, to the field of communication studies, through for instance multiple (refereed) publications, professional or public publications, presentations, invited speeches, leadership and mentorship, expert panelist, memberships of committees and/or other contributions with scientific and societal impact.

Award winners:
2013: Prof. dr. Peter Neijens (University of Amsterdam)
2015: Prof. dr. Keith Roe (KU Leuven)
2017: Prof. dr. Hilde van den Bulck (Antwerp University)

Young Scholar Award:
The young scholar award is meant to honor the accomplishments of young doctors (e.g., post-doc, assistant-professor, lecturer) who succeed in combining their individual academic career with contributions to the discipline of communication and media research. The award recognizes young scholars who hold a combination of a good academic track record and notable efforts with respect to the development of the discipline by, for instance, being involved (or have been) involved in contributing to the development of their own research group, section, department, or faculty or to the academic community at large.

Award winners:
2014: Dr. Eva van Reijmersdal (University of Amsterdam)
2016: Dr. An-Sofie Claeys (KU Leuven)