Welcome to NeFCA, The Netherlands – Flanders Communication Association.

NeFCA aims to represent and maintain a Community of Communication Scholars from The Netherlands and Flanders.

Become a member so you:

  • Connect with peers and colleagues from the field of Communication Sciences in Flanders and The Netherlands
  • Take part in interesting seminars for PhD students and senior scholars
  • Stay abreast of the latest news in our discipline


Etmaal 2018

The Department of Communication Sciences (Ghent University) will be hosting Etmaal van de Communicatiewetenschap 2018. The theme of Etmaal 2018 conference is transcultural exchanges and communication flows, particularly focusing on the cultural exchange and relationship between the Netherlands and Flanders.
For more information on the conference and the call for abstracts, please visit our website or contact us by mail. The deadline for abstract submission is 5 November 2017, 23u59.

Book about Kurt Baschwitz

Upcoming book about the fascinating life and times of Kurt Baschwitz (1886-1968).
More information can be found here.


Four scholars received an award at the Etmaal 2017 conference: congratulations!

1. Hilde Van den Bulck received the NeFCA Senior Career Award
The NeFCA Senior Career Award honors a lifetime of scholarly achievement in communication studies. The jury was chaired by Keith Roe (University of Leuven and Fordham University, N.Y.). Other members were Ine Byens (University of Amsterdam), Alexander Dhoest (University of Antwerp), and Eva van Reijmersdal (University of Amsterdam).
2. Sara De Vuyst received the Flemish Award for Outstanding Doctoral Research in Communication Sciences

Her dissertation (Ghent University) is entitled “Hacking gender in journalism: A multi-method study on gender issues in the rapidly changing and digitalised field of news production”. The peer jury consisted of Lien Mostmans (Vrije Universiteit Brussel), Brahim Zarouali (University of Antwerp), Marijke De Veirman (Ghent University), and Femke Geusens (University of Leuven).
3. Anika Batenburg received the NeSCoR Dissertation award 2015

Her dissertation (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam) is entitled “Being on-line together – The effects of peer-led online support community participation on breast cancer patients’ psychological well-being”. The peer jury consisted of Ruud Jacobs (Erasmus University Rotterdam), Amber Boeynaems (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), Pieter Cornelissen (University of Twente), Niklas Johannes (Radboud University Nijmegen), and Verena Wottrich (University of Amsterdam).
4. Brahim Zarouali received the award for best article by a young scholar published in Tijdschrift voor Communicatiewetenschap

The article is entitled “Online reclamewijsheid bij kinderen: Herkennen en begrijpen van reclamebanners en de rol van need for cognition en reclamewijsheidslessen”, and was co-authored by Michel Walrave, Karolien Poels, Koen Ponnet, and Ini Vanwesenbeeck (University of Antwerp. The jury consisted of Marjolijn Antheunis (Tilburg University), Hilde Van den Bulck (University of Antwerp), and Alexander van Deursen (University of Twente).

NeFCA Division Events

Reports and pictures of previous NeFCA events are available on the pages of each division.