NeFCA is run by a Board, which currently consists of:

  • President: Jeroen Jansz (Erasmus University Rotterdam)
  • Vice-president: Karolien Poels (University of Antwerp)
  • Treasurer: Stijn Joye (Ghent University)
  • Secretary: Stephanie Welten (University of Amsterdam)
  • Secretary: Margot van der Goot (University of Amsterdam)

Former Board members: Marieke Fransen; Karin Raeymaeckers; Hilde Van den Bulck.

Members interested to take up a position in the NeFCA management, are warmly invited to send an e-mail expressing interest to

Within the Board, we distinguish the following roles:

• Represents the Association
• Participates in boards of other associations on behalf of the Association.
• Makes introductions at conferences and other official meetings.
• Chairs all (Executive) Board meetings and the General Assembly.
Vice-President • Assists and replaces the President when needed.
Secretary • Deals with all incoming and outgoing mail/requests, except mail/requests pertaining to individual members.
• Prepares meetings (agenda, minutes, and meeting documents).
• Makes sure all general info about the Association can be found on the website and in the newsletter.
• Is the initial contact person for all new contacts.
Treasurer • Keeps the membership records up to date.
• Makes all payments.
• Keeps the account book up to date, including membership and sponsor payments.
• Produces the annual figures for the annual report (members & finances)
Division Chairs
Young Scholars Network Chairs

The Executive Board consists of the President, the Vice President, the Treasurer and the Secretary.

Rules governing the election of Board members:
• Board positions are open to all members, irrespective of employment status or academic degree.
• Board members are elected by the Association members.
• Board members are elected for 4 years, with the possibility to extend to a maximum of 8 years.

In addition to the Board, there are several Standing Committees:

Etmaal committee • Organizes the annual Etmaal conference
• Consists of:
     - Local chair
     - Local members
     - At least 1 long-term member
       (3 years; Board member)
     - Student member
Awards committee • Appoints juries
• Specifies nomination and award criteria, to be approved by the Board
Ad hoc committees

NeFCA was founded in 2011 by Susanne Janssen (Erasmus University Rotterdam), Maaike Prangsma (University of Amsterdam), Karin Raeymaeckers (Ghent University), Hilde Van den Bulck (University of Antwerp) and Claes de Vreese (University of Amsterdam).